CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Women in the New Tunisia; A Brush with Hope for Kenya; Feeding the Future in the People's Democratic Republic of Laos.





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 14, 2013.

Women in the New Tunisia
Tunisia is a country in transition. But while the Revolution brought justice for one young woman, the struggle is ongoing to make sure rights for ALL women are preserved in the new Tunisia. Then, with paintbrushes and endless enthusiasm, young artists from around the world are showing solidarity with the poorest of the poor. UN 21st Century follows them to Kenya where they are bringing hope -- and some fun -- to the nation's children. And, rice is a staple food for over half the world's population -- perhaps nowhere more ingrained in diet than in the People's Democratic Republic of Lao. But for many children in this country, over reliance on this traditional dish is taking a serious toll on their health.

A Brush with Hope for Kenya
With paintbrushes and endless enthusiasm, young artists from around the world are showing solidarity with the poorest of the poor. We follow them to Kenya where they are bringing hope, and some fun, to the nation's children.

Feeding the Future in the People's Democratic Republic of Laos
Rice is a staple food for over half of the world's population and nowhere is it more ingrained in diet than in the People's Democratic Republic of Lao. But for many children in this country, over reliance on this traditional dish is taking a serious toll on their health.

  • Argentina; China; U.S.
  • Monday, June 25 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 27 - 12:30pm
  • Sunday, July 1 - 5:00pm
  • #138
  • Monday, July 9 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 11 - 12:30pm
  • Sunday, July 15 - 5:00pm
  • Monday, July 23 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm