CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: May 2018: Asian American Women Who Make A Difference

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 12, 2018.

First aired: May 1, 2018.

In honor of Asian American Heritage Month, Asian American Life celebrates the achievements of remarkable women who helped changed America.

In the 1900’s a scholar from Chinatown became an unlikely activist fighting for women’s rights to vote. She is finally getting the recognition she deserves. Correspondent Rayner Ramirez reports on this historical figure and her contribution to American history.

Sexual assaults and harassment have made headline news. While this is a wake up call, Asian American women have almost been left out of the picture, until now. Host Ernabel Demillo’s exclusive report on how Asian American women are fighting back and making changes with the #MeToo movement.

Giving Circles are a relatively new trend in America, but they’re built on traditions that date back hundreds of years in communities around the world. In New York City, a group of Asian American women are redefining what it means to be philanthropists. Correspondent Kyung Yoon shares how these women are giving back.

Ai Jen Poo is best known for her work transforming the landscape of labor standards and working conditions for domestic workers. The 2014 MacArthur Genius award recipient has dedicated her career to giving a voice to the voiceless, from housekeepers to nannies, to human trafficking survivors. Continuing with her social justice work, she has set her sights on revamping the health care system, and together with the Asian American community, she is making ground breaking strides. Correspondent Minnie Roh profiles Ai-jen Poo.

Guest List

Rechelle Balanzat Founder, Juliette

Aiyoung Choi Founding Member, Asian Women Giving Circle

Karen Elizaga Author, “Find Your Sweet Spot”

Robert Gee Deacon, First Chinese Baptist Church

Katherine Giscombe Vice President, Catalyst

Bayer Lee Pastor, First Chinese Baptist Church

Hali Lee Founder, Asian Women Giving Circle

Mei Lum Grantee, Asian Women Giving Circle

Joyce Moy Executive Director, Asian American and Asian Research Institute, City University of New York

Ai-jen Poo Executive Director, National Domestic Workers Alliance; Co-Director, Caring Across Generations

  • Special Edition on Asian American Hidden Communities
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 6 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 20 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, June 24 - 8:30am
  • May 2018: Asian American Women Who Make A Difference
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, May 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 15 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 19 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, May 20 - 8:30am