CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: December 2018

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 9, 2018.

First aired: December 4, 2018.

Artist Nam June Paik is considered the father of video art, and now the Whitney Museum of American Art has brought back his work. Host and correspondent Ernabel Demillo speaks to the team who made it happen.

Some of you may get invited to a holiday party where you’ll see a grand ice carving gracing the room. But have you ever stopped to think about the artist behind the sculpture? Reporter Minnie Roh takes you behind the scenes of one of the most prolific ice carvers in the world and show you how they’ve taken this age-old craft and elevated it into a true art form.

Reporter Kyung Yoon takes us to Open Style Lab, an innovative organization dedicated to creating functional wearable solutions for people of all abilities without compromising on style.

An update on how the new the affirmative action policy ruling may affect Asian American students; correspondent Rayner Ramirez has the latest.

Reporter Minnie Roh meets a sibling duo determined to restore hard apple cider’s reputation as the world’s oldest and most favored alcoholic beverage right here in Brooklyn.

Guest List

Reinhard Bek New Media Conservator, Whitney Museum of American Art

Richard Bloes Senior Film & Video Technician, Whitney Museum of American Art

Grace Jun Executive Director, Open Style Lab

Carol Mancusi-Ungaro Associate Dir. for Conservation & Research, Whitney Museum of American Art

Cara McLellan Attorney, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Shintaro Okamoto Founder & Creative Director, Okamoto Studio

Irene Park Managing Editor, Associate, Open Style Lab

Jeannie Park President, Harvard Asian American Alumni Alliance

Christiane Paul Adjunct Curator of New Media Arts, Whitney Museum of American Art

Peter Yi Founder and Cider Maker, Brooklyn Cider House

Susan Yi Founder, Brooklyn Cider House

  • December 2018
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 1 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • January 2019
  • Tuesday, January 8 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • December 2018
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 18 - 8:00pm
  • November 2018
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 8:30am