CUNY TV logo


This edition: Production: "Anna Christie" (Winter 1993)

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 1, 1993.

The Anna Christie production team - scenic designer John Lee Beatty, O'Neill biographer Barbara Gelb, Artistic Director of Roundabout Theatre Todd Haimes, actors Anne Meara, Liam Neeson, Natasha Richardson, and Rip Torn, and lighting designer Marc B. Weiss -- discuss in-depth the 1993 Tony Award-winning revival, including the scenic and lighting design, how the characters relate to contemporary lives, the actors' differing acting styles, and Eugene O'Neill's early career.

Guest List

John Lee Beatty Production Designer

Barbara Gelb Writer

Brendan Gill Moderator

Todd Haimes Producer

Anne Meara Actress

Liam Neeson Actor

Natasha Richardson Actress

Rip Torn Actor

Marc B. Weiss

George C. White Moderator, American Theater Wing