CUNY TV logo


This edition: Playscript (Winter 1982)

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 1, 1982.

Panelists: Librettist James Kirkwood ("A Chorus Line"), lyricist Howard Ashman ("Little Shop of Horrors"), librettist Arthur Kopit ("Nine"), librettist Peter Stone ("Woman of the Year", "1776"), composer-lyricist Maury Yeston ("Nine"), and literary agent Mitch Douglas- discuss the process of writing a musical play, the detail that goes into developing these characters, the importance of directing and producing a musical play, as well as the process of condensing a play and script to the final product seen.

Guest List

Howard Ashman Lyricist, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Jean Dalrymple Moderator, American Theatre Wing

Mitch Douglas Literary Agent

Henry Hewes Board Member, American Theatre Wing

James Kirkwood Actor, Director, Writer, “A Chorus Line”

Arthur Kopit Playwright/Librettist, “Nine”

Isabelle Stevenson Host, American Theater Wing

Peter Stone Librettist, “Woman of the Year”, “1776”

Maury Yeston Composer/Lyricist, “Nine”