CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Image, Beauty and Power with Michaela Angela Davis

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 25, 2016.

First aired: June 15, 2016.

In this episode of Black America, Carol Jenkins is joined by Michaela Angela Davis, creator of MAD Free and Image Activist.

In this discussion, Carol Jenkins discusses Davis' work with MAD Free, a "multi-platform, multi-generational critical community conversation project with revolutionary women whose work and lives serve to liberate the narrow and disinformed image of women."

Michaela Angela Davis shared her experience with Circle of Mothers, a foundation established by Sybrina Fulton (mother of Trayvon Martin) for women who have experienced the loss of a child due to gun violence.

Find out about MAD Free's Hair Tales and visit us on Facebook (www.facebook.com/BlackAmericaTV) to check out a MAD Free clip featuring Patrisse Cullors, co-founder of Black Lives Matter, who discusses the story and magic behind her hair.

Guest List

Michaela Angela Davis Creator & Image Activist, MAD Free

  • A Fire Within with Sherry Graves
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, November 27 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, November 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, December 7 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, December 11 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, December 18 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • A Fire Within with Sherry Graves
  • Friday, November 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 11:30pm
  • More Than A Song with Alyson Cambridge
  • Friday, November 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, November 6 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 13 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • All Things Art
  • Sunday, October 21 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, October 23 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, October 30 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 7:30am, 1:30pm