CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Image, Beauty and Power with Michaela Angela Davis

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 25, 2016.

First aired: June 15, 2016.

In this episode of Black America, Carol Jenkins is joined by Michaela Angela Davis, creator of MAD Free and Image Activist.

In this discussion, Carol Jenkins discusses Davis' work with MAD Free, a "multi-platform, multi-generational critical community conversation project with revolutionary women whose work and lives serve to liberate the narrow and disinformed image of women."

Michaela Angela Davis shared her experience with Circle of Mothers, a foundation established by Sybrina Fulton (mother of Trayvon Martin) for women who have experienced the loss of a child due to gun violence.

Find out about MAD Free's Hair Tales and visit us on Facebook (www.facebook.com/BlackAmericaTV) to check out a MAD Free clip featuring Patrisse Cullors, co-founder of Black Lives Matter, who discusses the story and magic behind her hair.

Guest List

Michaela Angela Davis Creator & Image Activist, MAD Free

  • "Hope x Change with Jacqueline Woodson"
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 15 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 19 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, August 21 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 22 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Power Rising - Women in Politics
  • Friday, August 24 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 26 - 11:35pm
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, September 3 - 12:00am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • "Well, That Escalated Quickly" with Franchesca Ramsey
  • Friday, September 7 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, September 10 - 12:05am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • "Hope x Change with Jacqueline Woodson"
  • Friday, August 10 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 12 - 11:35pm
  • To Thine Self Be True with Sonya Renee Taylor
  • Friday, July 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, July 29 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 1 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 5 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 8 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Unbought and Unbossed with Shola Lynch
  • Sunday, July 15 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 18 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, July 22 - 11:35pm
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 25 - 7:30am, 1:30pm