CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: My Brother's Keeper with Michael J. Garner

Episode Details

Original tape date: July 6, 2016.

First aired: July 27, 2016.

100 Black Men was established in 1963 when a group of concerned African American men began to meet to explore ways of improving conditions in their community.

Michael J. Garner, President of 100 Black Men sits with Carol Jenkins to discuss the foundation of 100 Black Men, the schools they have developed and how they are grooming young men to be future leaders.

The night before this taping, a video was released of a man, Alton Sterling who was killed by police officers in Baton Rouge, LA. The following day, another man Philando Castile was killed in Minnesota by an officer after being pulled over for a broken tail light.  In this discussion, Carol Jenkins and Michael J. Garner watch the horrific video of Alton Sterling and discuss how our young black men should deal with their anger and how to handle themselves if ever found in a similar position with an officer.

Guest List

Michael J. Garner President, One Hundred Black Men, Inc. of New York

  • Race in America - Part II
  • Monday, December 17 - 12:00am
  • Tuesday, December 18 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Judith Jamison, Artistic Director Emeritus, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
  • Friday, December 21 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, December 25 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, January 1 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Kwame Alexander, Author, Swing
  • Friday, January 4 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, January 8 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 11:30pm
  • Race in America - Part II
  • Friday, December 7 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, December 11 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 1:00pm
  • Race in America - Part 1 of 2
  • Friday, November 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • A Fire Within with Sherry Graves
  • Friday, November 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, November 27 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 7:30am, 1:30pm