CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Black Detroit with Herb Boyd

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 22, 2017.

First aired: October 6, 2017.

Over the years Herb Boyd has become widely known as a respected journalist, historian, activist, and the author of 23 books. This year his profile has catapulted even further with the release of his latest book, "Black Detroit: A People's History of Self Determination." The title has since received rave reviews from several major media outlets, including the New York Times and the Washington Post. Part memoir, part love letter, part historical chronicle, Boyd shares his reflections on this iconic American city and explains in detail the significant contributions Detroit has made to the nation.

Boyd recently sat with Black America host, Carol Jenkins to discuss his life growing up in Detroit, the city's history, and the future of Detroit.

Guest List

Herb Boyd Author/Journalist

  • A Fire Within with Sherry Graves
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, November 27 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Kevin Nadal, Tinabeth Pina, & Laura Flanders - Part 1 of 2
  • Friday, November 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 11:50pm
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Kevin Nadal, Tinabeth Pina, & Laura Flanders - Part 1 of 2
  • Friday, December 7 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, December 11 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, December 18 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • A Fire Within with Sherry Graves
  • Friday, November 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 11:30pm
  • More Than A Song with Alyson Cambridge
  • Friday, November 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, November 6 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 13 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • All Things Art
  • Tuesday, October 23 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, October 30 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 7:30am, 1:30pm