CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Urban Bush Women with Jawole Willa Jo Zollar

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 11, 2017.

First aired: November 3, 2017.

The Urban Bush Women started with movement then eventually became a movement, according to Jawole Willa Jo Zollar, the founder of the celebrated dance company. The group brings to light stories of the disenfranchised within the African diaspora community through choreography unlike any other dance company.

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar recently sat with Carol Jenkins to discuss the group's mission, how they use dance to bring forth social justice messages, and how they've been able to change the landscape of dance.

Guest List

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar Choreographer and Founder, Urban Bush Women

  • Women in Football with Collette V. Smith
  • Friday, November 17 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 18 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, November 20 - 12:15am
  • Tuesday, November 21 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 22 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 25 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, November 27 - 12:05am
  • Tuesday, November 28 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Grace Vandecruze
  • Friday, December 1 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 2 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 3 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, December 5 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 6 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, December 9 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, December 10 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, December 12 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 13 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, December 15 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 16 - 1:00pm
  • Urban Bush Women with Jawole Willa Jo Zollar
  • Friday, November 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 4 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, November 6 - 12:15am
  • Tuesday, November 7 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 8 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 11 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, November 13 - 12:10am
  • Tuesday, November 14 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 15 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Unbought and Unbossed with Shola Lynch
  • Friday, October 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, October 23 - 12:00am
  • Tuesday, October 24 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 25 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, October 28 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, October 30 - 12:30am
  • Tuesday, October 31 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 1 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Black Detroit with Herb Boyd
  • Wednesday, October 18 - 7:30am, 1:30pm