CUNY TV logo

 

Latest edition: Soldier Debts; Bike Crash; Ashkenazi Genome; NY101

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 29, 2014.

First aired: October 1, 2014.

It's deep debt and wage garnishment for soldiers who buy into deals at discount stores near military bases. Paul Kiel, an investigative reporter with ProPublica, explains.

Then, following two recent deaths by collision with bicycle, plus, a viral video of a "dooring" in a bike lane, we take a look at the science behind bike behavior and bike lanes. Why are pedestrian collisions actually declining, and what to do about those doorings? To discuss, Peter Tuckel, professor sociology at Hunter College and William Milczarski, professor of urban affairs and planning, also at Hunter College.

Then, a recent report found Ashkenazi Jews descended from just over a few hundred people. Why this matters for medical science (breast cancer, Parkinson's...) we hear from Todd Lencz, Director of the Laboratory of Analytic Genomics at Zucker Hillside Hospital and co-founder the Ashkenazi Genome Consortium.

And Sam Robert's a History of New York in 101 Objects. Sam Roberts is the urban affairs correspondent for the New York Times. He brings us objects that tell New York's story.

Guest List

Paul Kiel Reporter, ProPublica.org

Todd Lencz Director, Laboratory of Analytic Genomics, Division of Psychiatry Research, The Zucker Hillside Hospital

William Milczarski, AICP Prof. of Urban Affairs and Planning, Hunter College

Sam Roberts Author, "A History of New York in 101 Objects"; Urban Affairs Correspondent, New York Times

Peter Tuckel Profesor of Sociology, Hunter College

  • Soldier Debts; Bike Crash; Ashkenazi Genome; NY101
  • Thursday, October 2 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 4 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, October 5 - 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, October 9 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 11 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, October 12 - 11:10pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, October 16 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 18 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, October 19 - 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, October 23 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 25 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, October 26 - 11:15pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, October 30 - 2:00am