CUNY TV logo

 

Latest edition: e-Pandering to Millennials

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 20, 2014.

First aired: October 22, 2014.

First, the Millennial electorate - aged 18-34 - has been a reliable voting bloc for Obama but those young adults are no shows for Midterms. A recent White House misstep showed the group may be too complicated to pander to with tweeted emoji-laden infographics. To discuss, Mic.com editor-in-chief Jacob Horowitz and New School history professor Natalia Mehlman-Petrzela.

Then, more than 4500 people have died from Ebola, almost entirely in West African countries. A new study details the rate at which the virus spreads from person to person, helping us look at the future of this crisis. Joining us is the lead author, Tanja Stadler, a researcher in the Biosystems & Engineering department at ETH Zurich in Switzerland.

Next, an update on the progress of electronic medical records. Many doctors complain the keyboard gets more hands on attention than the patient. Meanwhile, what happened to the decades-long project to standardize electronic health records? With answers, Joel Zinberg, associate clinical professor of surgery at Mount Sinai Hospital and via Skype from Washington, Brookings healthcare information technology expert, Niam Yaraghi.

Finally, a high line in Harlem? Floating uptown is an idea that would build both the "Harlem Promenade," an elevated linear park above active Amtrack lines, and affordable housing in West Harlem. The thinker with the idea is Daniel Marks Cohen, vice president and director of real estate and development at the Housing Partnership.

Guest List

Jake Horowitz Co-Founder, Editor in Chief, Mic.com

Daniel Marks Cohen VP and Director of Real Estate Development, Housing Partnership

Natalia Mehlman-Petrzela Assistant Professor of History, The New School

Tanja Stadler Researcher, Biosystems & Engineering, ETH Zurich

Niam Yaraghi Fellow, The Brookings Institute

Joel Zinberg Associate Clinical Professor, Mt. Sinai Hospital

  • e-Pandering to Millennials
  • Saturday, October 25 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, October 26 - 11:15pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, October 30 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 1 - 10:00am
  • Monday, November 3 - 11:55pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, November 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, November 6 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 8 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, November 9 - 11:10pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, November 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, November 13 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 15 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, November 16 - 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, November 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 7:30pm
  • Thursday, November 20 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 22 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, November 23 - 11:10pm