CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Woman in the Dunes





Online media for this episode is not currently available on our website.

Episode Details

(1964/Japan, 123 min., b&w, drama) Dir.: Hiroshi Teshigahara.
Cast: Hiroko Ito, Kyoko Kishida, Eiji Okada. An entomologist is trapped in a large hole and held prisoner by a woman in an old house. Then begins a strange relationship between them. In Japanese with English subtitles. Discussion follows film with Paul Anderer.

Guest List

Paul Anderer Professor of Japanese Literature, Columbia University

Prof. Jerry Carlson Professor of film studies, City College of New York

  • The Spanish Gardener
  • Saturday, July 21 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, July 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 12:00am
  • Uniform
  • Saturday, July 28 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, July 29 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 12:00am
  • Dam Street (Hong Yan)
  • Saturday, August 4 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, August 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 12:00am
  • Stolen Life (Shen Si Jie)
  • Saturday, August 11 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, August 12 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 12:00am
  • Luxury Car
  • Saturday, August 18 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, August 19 - 9:00pm