CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Bad Day to Go Fishing (2009)



Online media for this episode is not currently available on our website.

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 20, 2017.

First aired: December 16, 2017.

(110 min., Uruguay, Spain / 2009 / Drama-Comedy / Spanish with English Subtitles) A film by Alvaro Brechner. Jacob van Oppen, the former strongest man on earth and his crafty manager, Orsini, make a good living by traveling around small South American towns, organizing wrestling exhibitions in run-down theaters. Once this oddball pair disembarks at the village of Santa Maria, business really kicks off: the local newspaper sponsors the fight and helping hands placard posters announcing an open call for a worthy adversary. Ever so resourceful, Orsini knows how to find the right combatant, but fishing in Santa Maria could lead to a bigger catch than he'd hoped for.

Discussion guest: Carlos Riobo, The City College CUNY

Guest List

Carlos Riobó Professor of Latin American Literatures and Cultures, The City College/CUNY

  • La Chienne (1931)
  • Saturday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, January 20 - 9:00pm
  • The Hitch-Hiker
  • Saturday, January 12 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 19 - 12:00am
  • Kansas City Confidential
  • Saturday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 12:00am
  • D.O.A.
  • Saturday, December 29 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 12:00am
  • He Walked By Night
  • Saturday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 12:00am