CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Can Technology Transform Society?





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

It's unstoppable and unavoidable, and it's blowing to bits communication, business and life as we know it. Technology is making prettier television pictures, smart houses and smart cars, changing every aspect of business and government, shrinking the world and giving access to anything to almost anyone. Today's panelists discuss how technology is forever changing life as we know it and how change and continuing growth are just as unstoppable as social change is inevitable. Joining host Robert Kuhn are geopolitical economist Francis Fukuyama; artificial intelligence expert Marvin Minsky; technological innovator George Kozmetsky; scientist and sci-fi novelist Gregory Benford; and biophysicist Gregory Stock.

  • What is Extended Mind?
  • Monday, December 10 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, December 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 12:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:00pm
  • If God, What's Evolution?
  • Monday, December 3 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 12:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:00pm
  • Being in the World: A Tribute to Hubert Dreyfus
  • Monday, November 26 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 12:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:00pm
  • What is Analytic Theology?
  • Monday, November 19 - 9:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 12:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:00pm
  • Epistemology: How Do I Know?
  • Saturday, November 17 - 10:00am