CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Kenneth Prewitt on the Census

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 16, 2013.

First aired: September 18, 2013.

Former director of the U.S. Census and Columbia University professor, Kenneth Prewitt talks with Ronnie Eldridge about the history of the census and the significance of the numbers reported every 10 years. Of particular concern is the reliance - in the 21st century - on archaic and discredited 18th century science based on the "five races" white, black, red, yellow, brown. In "What Is Your Race," Prof. Prewitt shows why the way we count by race is flawed.

Guest List

Prof. Kenneth Prewitt Columbia University

  • Michael Powell: "Sports of the Times" Columnist
  • Saturday, October 20 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Sarah Bartlett: Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • tba
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 8:00pm