CUNY TV logo


This edition: Early 20th Century Authors

Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

In the first half of the 20th century, Irish character and identity became fully separate from their English-influenced past. Program two investigates how Ireland’s turbulent early 20th century history also spawned a great Irish literary revival.
1913 – George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion is performed
1916 – W.B. Yeats, Father of the Irish Literary Revival
1922 – James Joyce, Ulysses
1923 – Sean O’Casey begins the Dublin Trilogy
1925 – Liam O’Flaherty wins the James Tait Black Memorial Prize

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • No recent shows on the schedule