CUNY TV logo


This edition: The New Wave

Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

As World War II came and went, a new cadre of Irish authors emerged onto the world stage. Program three examines how they distinguished themselves in every literary genre, from children’s literature to Nobel prize-winning novels, plays and poetry.
1941 – Brian O’Nolan writes and Irish Language Novel
1953 – Samuel Beckett’s Waiting for Godot premieres
1954 – Dame Irish Murdoch pens Under the Net
1954 – C.S. Lewis completes The Chronicles of Narnia
1954 – Brendan Behan’s The Quare Fellow premiers in Dublin
1960 – Edna O’Brien begins The Country Girls Trilogy
1997 – Frank McCourt wins the Pulitzer Prize
2009 – Seamus Heaney reads “Digging”

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • No recent shows on the schedule