CUNY TV logo


This edition: The Modern Era

Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

In the 21st Century a new wave of American directors became known as the authors of their films. Hollywood had gone corporate, investing its money in action blockbusters and distributing what are called Indies, independent features that were bringing home the Oscars for best picture. In this program we focus on the most creative of these independent directors.
The New Wave
1986 - Oliver Stone Wins His First Oscar for Directing
1989 - Spike Lee, Black Auteur
1992 - Clint Eastwood Receives His First Oscar for Best Director
2007 - P.T. Anderson Writes and Directs There Will Be Blood
2008 - Darren Aronofsky, The Wrestler
2010 - Kathryn Bigelow Wins the Oscar for Best Director

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • No recent shows on the schedule