CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: What is Ethnic?

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 18, 2008.

On this episode we profile New York’s two oldest ethnic newspapers, the Jewish Forward and Amsterdam News. We also explore the meaning of the terms “ethnic” and “mainstream”.

Guest List

Prof. Nancy Foner, Ph.D. Department of Sociology, Hunter College/CUNY

J.J. Goldberg Editorial Director, The Forward

Clarisel Gonzalez Founding Editor, PR Sun, Bronx Latino

Dr. Philip Kasinitz Sociology Program, The Graduate Center/CUNY Professor

Niall O'Dowd Publisher, Irish Voice

Ray O'Hanlon Editor, The Irish Echo

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Meghan Sweeney Communication & Sales Executive, Irish Voice

Elinor Tatum Publisher & Editor in Chief, New York Amsterdam News

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Alberto Vourvoulias-Bush Executive Editor, El Diario/La Prensa Newspaper

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm