CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: What is Ethnic?

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 18, 2008.

On this episode we profile New York’s two oldest ethnic newspapers, the Jewish Forward and Amsterdam News. We also explore the meaning of the terms “ethnic” and “mainstream”.

Guest List

Prof. Nancy Foner, Ph.D. Department of Sociology, Hunter College/CUNY

J.J. Goldberg Editorial Director, The Forward

Clarisel Gonzalez Founding Editor, PR Sun, Bronx Latino

Dr. Philip Kasinitz Sociology Program, The Graduate Center/CUNY Professor

Niall O'Dowd Publisher, Irish Voice

Ray O'Hanlon Editor, The Irish Echo

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Meghan Sweeney Communication & Sales Executive, Irish Voice

Elinor Tatum Publisher & Editor in Chief, New York Amsterdam News

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Alberto Vourvoulias-Bush Executive Editor, El Diario/La Prensa Newspaper

  • Bank Fraud
  • Saturday, September 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 29 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 8:30am
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, September 15 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • What is Ethnic?
  • Wednesday, September 6 - 4:30am
  • Wednesday, September 13 - 4:30am
  • The Affordable Library
  • Tuesday, September 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, August 30 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 2 - 8:30am
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Thursday, August 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 26 - 8:30am