CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: What is Ethnic?

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 18, 2008.

On this episode we profile New York’s two oldest ethnic newspapers, the Jewish Forward and Amsterdam News. We also explore the meaning of the terms “ethnic” and “mainstream”.

Guest List

Prof. Nancy Foner, Ph.D. Department of Sociology, Hunter College/CUNY

J.J. Goldberg Editorial Director, The Forward

Clarisel Gonzalez Founding Editor, PR Sun, Bronx Latino

Dr. Philip Kasinitz Sociology Program, The Graduate Center/CUNY Professor

Niall O'Dowd Publisher, Irish Voice

Ray O'Hanlon Editor, The Irish Echo

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Meghan Sweeney Communication & Sales Executive, Irish Voice

Elinor Tatum Publisher & Editor in Chief, New York Amsterdam News

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Alberto Vourvoulias-Bush Executive Editor, El Diario/La Prensa Newspaper

  • Course Correction
  • Tuesday, May 22 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Course Correction
  • Friday, April 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, May 11 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 12 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 15 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 17 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 19 - 8:30am
  • Heat Seeker
  • Saturday, April 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm