CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Journalists Under Fire

Episode Details

Original tape date: July 23, 2008.

We look at the risks journalists around the world face every day. For some journalists from other countries who have now settled in the US, practicing their profession back home was a dangerous endeavor. They sometimes did so under the threat of imprisonment, torture and even death. In this episode we meet Roozbeh Mirebrahimi, an Iran journalist who was imprisoned and tortured for his reporting. We also profile Nowy Dziennik, the largest Polish newspaper published in New York City.

Guest List

Dr. Czeslaw Karkowski Senior Editor, Nowy Dziennik

Roozbeh Mirebrahimi Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, NYU, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Solmaz Sharif

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Barbara Wierzbianski Publisher, Nowy Dziennik

Elisabeth Witchel Committee to Protect Journalists

  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm