CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Emerald Immigrants

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 18, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we speak with a journalist who has been reporting and blogging about the recent elections in El Salvador. We take a look at the how some Chinese papers are translating the impact of the economic crisis to their readers. We talk about the ebb and flow of Irish immigrants into the U.S. as Ireland’s once soaring economy seems to have stalled. Then we profile a French magazine that’s reinventing itself at a time when skeptics say newspaper publishing is dead.

Guest List

Jean-Cosme Delaloye Editor in Chief, France-Amérique

Michelle García Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Prof. Peter Kwong Hunter College/CUNY

Louis F. Kyle Publisher & Owner, France-Amérique

Roberto Lovato Contributing Associate Editor, New America Media

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Dean Starkman Columbia Journalism Review

  • Women in Food Works
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Friday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Course Correction
  • Thursday, May 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm