CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Emerald Immigrants

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 18, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we speak with a journalist who has been reporting and blogging about the recent elections in El Salvador. We take a look at the how some Chinese papers are translating the impact of the economic crisis to their readers. We talk about the ebb and flow of Irish immigrants into the U.S. as Ireland’s once soaring economy seems to have stalled. Then we profile a French magazine that’s reinventing itself at a time when skeptics say newspaper publishing is dead.

Guest List

Jean-Cosme Delaloye Editor in Chief, France-Amérique

Michelle García Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Prof. Peter Kwong Hunter College/CUNY

Louis F. Kyle Publisher & Owner, France-Amérique

Roberto Lovato Contributing Associate Editor, New America Media

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Dean Starkman Columbia Journalism Review

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Tuesday, August 21 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm