CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The Pope in Africa

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 25, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we talk about the Pope's visit to Africa. Why have his comments about AIDS in Africa sparked controversy and why are Catholic converts on the rise on the continent?  We also speak with journalists from the ethnic media who are getting an education in education reporting. Then we profile the Filipino Reporter, one of the oldest newspapers serving the Filipino community.

Guest List

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Michelle García Independent Sources

Darlie Gervais General Manager, Haitian Times

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Libertito Pelaya Founder & Editor in Chief, Filipino Reporter

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Juana Ponce de León Executive Director , New York Community Media Alliance

Omoyele Sowore Journalist, SaharaReporters.com

Robert Waddell Reporter, VirtualBoricua.org

Yana Wasielewski Journalist, Novaye Russkoye Slovo

Mohsin Zaheer Journalist, Sada-e-Pakistan

Helen Zelon Journalist, City Limits/Inside Schools

  • Bank Fraud
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm