CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The Pope in Africa

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 25, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we talk about the Pope's visit to Africa. Why have his comments about AIDS in Africa sparked controversy and why are Catholic converts on the rise on the continent?  We also speak with journalists from the ethnic media who are getting an education in education reporting. Then we profile the Filipino Reporter, one of the oldest newspapers serving the Filipino community.

Guest List

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Michelle García Independent Sources

Darlie Gervais General Manager, Haitian Times

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Libertito Pelaya Founder & Editor in Chief, Filipino Reporter

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Juana Ponce de León Executive Director , New York Community Media Alliance

Omoyele Sowore Journalist, SaharaReporters.com

Robert Waddell Reporter, VirtualBoricua.org

Yana Wasielewski Journalist, Novaye Russkoye Slovo

Mohsin Zaheer Journalist, Sada-e-Pakistan

Helen Zelon Journalist, City Limits/Inside Schools

  • Heat Seeker
  • Saturday, April 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Course Correction
  • Friday, April 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Friday, April 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, March 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 31 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Thursday, March 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 24 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, March 27 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, March 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm