CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The Low Down on AIDS

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 2, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we tackle the sensitive issue of AIDS among black women. Is the down low lifestyle among black men contributing to the escalating number of AIDS cases among black women? We take a look at the growing divide between people who can and cannot afford their healthcare. Then we see how some healthcare reform organizations are equipping the ethnic media to report on how possible reforms will affect immigrant communities. We also profile a Nigerian journalist considered persona non grata in his country because of his reporting on government corruption.

Guest List

Noilyn Abesamis-Mendoza Health Policy Director, Coalition for Asian American Children & Families

Aisha Al-Muslim Special Correspondent, 219West/Independent Sources

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Kenyon Farrow Activist/Blogger

Alicia Heath-Toby Program Director, Women’s Institute/Gay Men’s Health Crisis

Chung-Wha Hong Executive Director, New York Immigration Coalition

Anjanette Levert Independent Sources

Cecilia Lopes Executive Director, UBS Investment Bank

Adeola Oladele Independent Sources

Louis Perego Executive Producer, Skyline Features

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Omoyele Sowore Journalist, SaharaReporters.com

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • On the Rocks
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm