CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The Black President

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 16, 2009.

On this edition of Independent Sources we sit down with two veteran black journalists to get an assessment of Barack Obama and hear about how is the first African American president is being seen by the black community. We look at non-profit owner as a business model for community journalism. Then we profile an African newspaper publisher and radio personality Chika Onyeani.

Guest List

Aisha Al-Muslim Special Correspondent, 219West/Independent Sources

Christopher W. Anderson Assistant Professor, College of Staten Island/CUNY

Herb Boyd Author/Journalist

Walter L. Fields Jr. Publisher, City Limits

Smokey Fontaine Chief Content Officer, NewsOne.com

Laura Forlano Information Society Project, Yale University

Michelle García Independent Sources

Jordan Moss Executive Director, Bronx News Network

Adeola Oladele Independent Sources

Chika Onyeani Publisher, The African Sun Times

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Abby Sher Independent and Ethnic Media Expert

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Rachel Waldholz Reporter, Tremont Tribune

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm