CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Identity Crisis

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 17, 2010.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we look at the controversy and confusion surrounding a recent law that requires Puerto Ricans who live in the U.S. to apply for new birth certificates. We highlight recent studies that address the correlation between climate change, natural disasters and the gender gap. Then we commemorate St. Patrick's Day with a profile of one of the city's leading Irish newspapers.

Guest List

Lorena Aguilar Global Senior Gender Advisor, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Luis Balzac NY Director, Puerto Rico Federal Affairs Administration

Rachel Harris Advocacy Coordinator, Women’s Environment & Development Organization (WEDO)

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Prof. Ed Morales Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race (CSER)/Columbia University

Ray O'Hanlon Editor, The Irish Echo

Marlene Peralta Presentadora, Desde la Calle/Independent Sources

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Tuesday, August 21 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm