CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Laying Down Roots

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 24, 2010.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we look at grassroots organizations and the ethnic media's coverage of the latest flare up in the Israel/Palestine conflict. We ask the question - "Is there a feminization of the ethnic media?"  We report on efforts to enlist the immigrant and community media in selling the CENSUS. Then, we profile a radio host trying to build bridges between Latinos and other ethnic communities.

Guest List

Christine Chiu Editor, World Journal

Lorraine Cortés-Vásquez Secretary of State of New York

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

J.J. Goldberg Editorial Director, The Forward

Howard Jordan Radio Host, “The Jordan Journal”/WBAI

Micha Kurz Founder & Director, GrassrootsJerusalem.org

John C. Liu New York City Comptroller

Marlene Peralta Presentadora, Desde la Calle/Independent Sources

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Juana Ponce de León Executive Director , New York Community Media Alliance

Fatima Shama Commissioner, Mayor’s Office of Immigration Affairs

Aleksandra Slabisz Reporter, Nowy Dziennik - Polish Daily News

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, April 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Course Correction
  • Friday, April 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Friday, April 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 21 - 8:30am
  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, March 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 31 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Tuesday, March 27 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, March 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm