CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Election Revolution

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 15, 2010.

On this edition of Independent Sources, what's next for Haiti after protesters virtually shut down the country in anger over recent election results; the growing movement in New York to save endangered languages. Then, we hear about the debate over Taínos claiming their ethnic identity.

Guest List

Prof. Juliette Blevins, Ph.D. Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Co-Director, Endangered Language Alliance

Roberto Múkaro Borrero President, United Confederation of Taíno People

Miryam Y. Cadillo Sociolinguist/Faculty, New York University steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development

Ricot Dupuy Reporter & General Manager, Radio Soleil d’Haiti

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Bobby Gonzaléz Bronx Taíno, Poet & Lecturer

Ph.D. Gabriel Haslip-Viera Professor & Chair of Sociology, The City College of New York/CUNY

Kim Ives Writer & Editor, Haiti Liberté

Marlene Peralta Presentadora, Desde la Calle/Independent Sources

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Saturday, August 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm