CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: What's in a Name?

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 6, 2011.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we explore the debate over the term Hispanic vs. Latino. We learn about why the Korean greengrocers in the city are disappearing. Then, we see how one psychologist is helping Haitians deal with the trauma of last year's devastating earthquake.

Guest List

Dr. Deepak Chopra Physician, Public Speaker & Writer

Jessica Courtemanche Independent Sources

Dr. James S. Gordon Executive Director, The Center for Mind-Body Medicine

Jamie Hector Actor

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Prof. Ed Morales Journalist/Writer, Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race (CSER)/Columbia University

Prof. Segundo Pantoja Center for Ethnic Studies, Borough of Manhattan Community College/CUNY

Marlene Peralta Presentadora, Desde la Calle/Independent Sources

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Laura Vanderkam Contributing Writer, City Journal

Terrie Williams President , The Terrie Williams Agency

  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Friday, July 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, August 17 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 8:30am
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm