CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Gun Talk

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 19, 2011.

First aired: October 19, 2011.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we look at the troubling issue of gun violence in New York City. We discuss the schism between women of color and white women on how best to deal with the issues of rape and domestic abuse. Then we hear why some protesters in the Occupy Wall Street movement see themselves as part of the problem.

Guest List

Michelle García Independent Sources

Dedric Hammond Violence Interrupter, Operation S.N.U.G. (“Guns” spelled backwards)

Robin Holmes-Myers Project Director, Operation S.N.U.G. - Harlem

Janeen Mantin Founding Board Member, Black Women’s Blueprint

Marlene Peralta Host/Producer, Independent Sources/Science & U!

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Anoushka Ratnarajah Organizer, SlutWalk NYC

Iesha Sekou Executive Director, Street Corner Resources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Lavon Walker Outreach Worker Supervisor, (Save Our Streets) S.O.S. Crown Heights

  • Bank Fraud
  • Tuesday, September 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 29 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 24 - 4:30pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, September 15 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 23 - 8:30am
  • What is Ethnic?
  • Wednesday, September 6 - 4:30am
  • Wednesday, September 13 - 4:30am
  • The Affordable Library
  • Tuesday, September 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, August 30 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 2 - 8:30am
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Saturday, August 26 - 8:30am