CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Gun Talk

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 19, 2011.

First aired: October 19, 2011.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we look at the troubling issue of gun violence in New York City. We discuss the schism between women of color and white women on how best to deal with the issues of rape and domestic abuse. Then we hear why some protesters in the Occupy Wall Street movement see themselves as part of the problem.

Guest List

Michelle García Independent Sources

Dedric Hammond Violence Interrupter, Operation S.N.U.G. (“Guns” spelled backwards)

Robin Holmes-Myers Project Director, Operation S.N.U.G. - Harlem

Janeen Mantin Founding Board Member, Black Women’s Blueprint

Marlene Peralta Host/Producer, Independent Sources/Science & U!

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Anoushka Ratnarajah Organizer, SlutWalk NYC

Iesha Sekou Executive Director, Street Corner Resources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Lavon Walker Outreach Worker Supervisor, (Save Our Streets) S.O.S. Crown Heights

  • School Segregation
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 27 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • No Stop Till
  • Wednesday, May 17 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 20 - 8:30am
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Wednesday, May 10 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 13 - 8:30am
  • No Safe Haven
  • Wednesday, May 3 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 6 - 8:30am
  • Hispanic Homeowners
  • Wednesday, April 26 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 29 - 8:30am