CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Gun Talk

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 19, 2011.

First aired: October 19, 2011.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we look at the troubling issue of gun violence in New York City. We discuss the schism between women of color and white women on how best to deal with the issues of rape and domestic abuse. Then we hear why some protesters in the Occupy Wall Street movement see themselves as part of the problem.

Guest List

Michelle García Independent Sources

Dedric Hammond Violence Interrupter, Operation S.N.U.G. (“Guns” spelled backwards)

Robin Holmes-Myers Project Director, Operation S.N.U.G. - Harlem

Janeen Mantin Founding Board Member, Black Women’s Blueprint

Marlene Peralta Host/Producer, Independent Sources/Science & U!

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Anoushka Ratnarajah Organizer, SlutWalk NYC

Iesha Sekou Executive Director, Street Corner Resources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Lavon Walker Outreach Worker Supervisor, (Save Our Streets) S.O.S. Crown Heights

  • Wise Women
  • Saturday, June 24 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 22 - 8:30am
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Wednesday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17 - 8:30am
  • Behind the Book
  • Wednesday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • Hail for Help
  • Wednesday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3 - 8:30am
  • School Segregation
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 27 - 8:30am