CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Third World Cops

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 11, 2013.

First aired: February 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we hear about how Haitian-born NYPD officers are helping to secure law and order in Haiti after the 2010 earthquake that devastated the island nation. We talk to a film director who has turned his lens on one Mexican newspaper whose reporters seek to expose local drug cartels with their stories. Then we see how one organization is trying to help some Brooklyn residents go green.

Guest List

Kizzy Cox Journalism Student, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Luis Cruz Cypress Hills Homeowner

Roberto Diaz Cypress Hills Homeowner

Sgt. Herve Guiteau New York Police Department

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Betsy MacLean Director of Development, Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Bernardo Ruiz Producer/Director, “Reportero”

Lisabeth Shepherd Founder & Executive Director, Green City Force

Erika Symmonds Program Manager, Green City Force

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Wise Women
  • Saturday, June 24 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 22 - 8:30am
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Wednesday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17 - 8:30am
  • Behind the Book
  • Wednesday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • Hail for Help
  • Wednesday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3 - 8:30am
  • School Segregation
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 27 - 8:30am