CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Landmark Victory or Political Theatre?

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 4, 2013.

First aired: March 6, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we talk about how a recent City Council bill could over turn parts of the controversial Secure Communities program in New York City. We hear about the plans some local environmentalists have for a multi-million dollar windfall they received after a protracted fight with the oil giant, Exxon. Then we learn more about the growing wave of independent directors and producers who are turning to the Internet for their audience.

Guest List

Dianna Brown-Smith Writer & Producer, “Disciplinary Actions”

Aymar Jean Christian University of Pennsylvania Annenberg School for Communication, Doctoral Candidate in Communication

Mr. Tony Clomax Writer, Director, & Producer, "12 Steps to Recovery"

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Phillip Musegaas Hudson River Program Director, Riverkeeper

Lindsay Nash Clinical Litigation Fellow/Liman Fellow, Cardozo Immigration Justice Clinic

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Bank Fraud
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 20 - 4:30pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm