CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Landmark Victory or Political Theatre?

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 4, 2013.

First aired: March 6, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we talk about how a recent City Council bill could over turn parts of the controversial Secure Communities program in New York City. We hear about the plans some local environmentalists have for a multi-million dollar windfall they received after a protracted fight with the oil giant, Exxon. Then we learn more about the growing wave of independent directors and producers who are turning to the Internet for their audience.

Guest List

Dianna Brown-Smith Writer & Producer, “Disciplinary Actions”

Aymar Jean Christian University of Pennsylvania Annenberg School for Communication, Doctoral Candidate in Communication

Mr. Tony Clomax Writer, Director, & Producer, "12 Steps to Recovery"

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Phillip Musegaas Hudson River Program Director, Riverkeeper

Lindsay Nash Clinical Litigation Fellow/Liman Fellow, Cardozo Immigration Justice Clinic

Garry Pierre-Pierre Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, August 17 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 8:30am
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Friday, July 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:30am
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm