CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 23 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 26 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 30 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 3 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 10 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 17 - 8:30am
  • The Municipal ID
  • Wednesday, April 16 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 17 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 19 - 8:30am
  • Transgender and Jewish
  • Wednesday, April 2 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 5 - 8:30am
  • Venezuela is Burning
  • Wednesday, March 26 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 29 - 8:30am
  • A Mother's Crusade
  • Saturday, March 22 - 8:30am
  • Wednesday, April 9 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 12 - 8:30am