CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • On the Rocks
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm