CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • It's In The Bag
  • Wednesday, August 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 3 - 8:30am
  • Film Focus Special
  • Wednesday, September 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 10 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, September 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 17 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, September 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 24 - 8:30am
  • NYC Incarcerated
  • Wednesday, August 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 27 - 8:30am
  • The Crown Heights Incident
  • Wednesday, August 17 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 20 - 8:30am
  • Homeless NYC
  • Wednesday, August 10 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 13 - 8:30am
  • Minding What You Eat
  • Wednesday, August 3 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 6 - 8:30am
  • Fighting for the Underground
  • Saturday, July 30 - 8:30am