CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Thursday, March 23 - 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 25 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, March 29 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Wednesday, March 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Wednesday, March 15 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 18 - 8:30am
  • Small Business, Big City
  • Wednesday, March 8 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 11 - 8:30am
  • Sanctuary Cities
  • Wednesday, March 1 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 4 - 8:30am
  • Migrant Kitchens
  • Wednesday, February 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 25 - 8:30am