CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Women in Food Works
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Friday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm