CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Separate and Not Equal

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2013.

First aired: March 13, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we examine the growing debate over racial segregation in the city's gifted and talented programs, we take a look at a report that claims only a small fraction of the city's ad budget goes to the ethnic media, and then we profile a pioneering public television producer who helped visual art emerge into the mainstream.

Guest List

Prof. Sarah Bartlett Professor, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Dr. James Borland Professor of Education, Teacher’s College, Columbia University

Jamie Davidovich Video Artist & TV Producer

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

David M. Greaves Founder & President, DBG Media, Co-Founder, Our Time Press

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Michael Petrilli Executive Vice-President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Vianora Vinca Producer/Co-Host, Independent Sources

  • Filling the News Vacuum
  • Wednesday, September 2 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 5 - 8:30am
  • 2015 Earth Day Special
  • Wednesday, September 9 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 12 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, September 16 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 17 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 19 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, September 23 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 26 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, September 30 - 8:30pm
  • Bedford-Stuyvesant: The Gentrification Frontier
  • Wednesday, August 26 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 29 - 8:30am
  • New Leadership
  • Wednesday, August 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 22 - 8:30am
  • The ISIS Effect
  • Wednesday, August 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 15 - 8:30am
  • Let Them Play
  • Wednesday, August 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 8 - 8:30am