CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Eating Smarter

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 9, 2013.

First aired: December 11, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we explore some of the difficulties New York City's Department of Education and its partners face as they try to make public school lunches healthier. We meet Marjorie Bibbons, a woman whose charity work has helped thousands of people and has lead to her getting national recognition. Then we profile Operation Fight Back, a grassroots organization in East Harlem that once battled drug dealers and now provides affordable housing for low-income Harlem residents.

Guest List

Marjorie Bibbons President, Healing Hands Helping Broken Hearts, Inc.

Ingrid Calvo Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Sarah Pizon Independent Sources

Jennifer J. Raab President, Hunter College/CUNY

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Stéphanie Rubin Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • Bank Fraud
  • Saturday, September 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 29 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 8:30am
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, September 15 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • What is Ethnic?
  • Wednesday, September 6 - 4:30am
  • Wednesday, September 13 - 4:30am
  • The Affordable Library
  • Tuesday, September 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, August 30 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 2 - 8:30am
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Wednesday, August 23 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 26 - 8:30am