CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Eating Smarter

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 9, 2013.

First aired: December 11, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we explore some of the difficulties New York City's Department of Education and its partners face as they try to make public school lunches healthier. We meet Marjorie Bibbons, a woman whose charity work has helped thousands of people and has lead to her getting national recognition. Then we profile Operation Fight Back, a grassroots organization in East Harlem that once battled drug dealers and now provides affordable housing for low-income Harlem residents.

Guest List

Marjorie Bibbons President, Healing Hands Helping Broken Hearts, Inc.

Ingrid Calvo Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Sarah Pizon Independent Sources

Jennifer J. Raab President, Hunter College/CUNY

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Stéphanie Rubin Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 26 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 29 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 3 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 6 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 10 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 13 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 17 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 20 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Affordable Library
  • Wednesday, April 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 22 - 8:30am
  • Unhealthy Advertising
  • Wednesday, April 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 15 - 8:30am
  • No Safe Haven
  • Wednesday, April 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 8 - 8:30am
  • Lost in Translation
  • Wednesday, March 29 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 1 - 8:30am