CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Eating Smarter

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 9, 2013.

First aired: December 11, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we explore some of the difficulties New York City's Department of Education and its partners face as they try to make public school lunches healthier. We meet Marjorie Bibbons, a woman whose charity work has helped thousands of people and has lead to her getting national recognition. Then we profile Operation Fight Back, a grassroots organization in East Harlem that once battled drug dealers and now provides affordable housing for low-income Harlem residents.

Guest List

Marjorie Bibbons President, Healing Hands Helping Broken Hearts, Inc.

Ingrid Calvo Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Sarah Pizon Independent Sources

Jennifer J. Raab President, Hunter College/CUNY

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Stéphanie Rubin Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • Wise Women
  • Saturday, June 24 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 22 - 8:30am
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Wednesday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17 - 8:30am
  • Behind the Book
  • Wednesday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • Hail for Help
  • Wednesday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3 - 8:30am
  • School Segregation
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 27 - 8:30am