CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Eating Smarter

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 9, 2013.

First aired: December 11, 2013.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we explore some of the difficulties New York City's Department of Education and its partners face as they try to make public school lunches healthier. We meet Marjorie Bibbons, a woman whose charity work has helped thousands of people and has lead to her getting national recognition. Then we profile Operation Fight Back, a grassroots organization in East Harlem that once battled drug dealers and now provides affordable housing for low-income Harlem residents.

Guest List

Marjorie Bibbons President, Healing Hands Helping Broken Hearts, Inc.

Ingrid Calvo Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Judith R. Escalona Independent Sources

Abi Ishola Independent Sources

Sarah Pizon Independent Sources

Jennifer J. Raab President, Hunter College/CUNY

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Stéphanie Rubin Co-Founder, IN'BOX Smart and Tasty

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, November 24 - 9:05pm
  • Saturday, November 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, December 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Friday, November 10 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, November 18 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 21 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, October 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, November 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • After the Disaster
  • Thursday, October 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm