CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: 2013 Year in Review

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 31, 2013.

First aired: January 1, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we take a look back on some of favorite stories of 2013, including our report on the Pakistani community's struggle to recover after immigration raids post 9/11 virtually depleted that population in the city. We also profile the city's oldest and best known Spanish newspaper, El Diario/La Prensa.

Guest List

James Akins Member, The Mui Fa Lion & Unicorn Dance Team

Michaela Angela Davis Cultural Critic/Image Activist

Erica González Executive Director, El Diario/La Prensa

Claudio Lomnitz Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University

Miguel Lopez Owner, Don Paco Lopez Panaderia

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Abu Taher Executive Editor, Bangla Patrika

Kai Yuen Instructor, The Mui Fa Lion & Unicorn Dance Team

Mohsin Zaheer Editor, Sada-E-Pakistan

  • On the Rocks
  • Thursday, January 18 - 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm