CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: 2013 Year in Review

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 31, 2013.

First aired: January 1, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources, we take a look back on some of favorite stories of 2013, including our report on the Pakistani community's struggle to recover after immigration raids post 9/11 virtually depleted that population in the city. We also profile the city's oldest and best known Spanish newspaper, El Diario/La Prensa.

Guest List

James Akins Member, The Mui Fa Lion & Unicorn Dance Team

Michaela Angela Davis Cultural Critic/Image Activist

Erica González Executive Director, El Diario/La Prensa

Claudio Lomnitz Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University

Miguel Lopez Owner, Don Paco Lopez Panaderia

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrios Operation Fightback, Inc.

Abu Taher Executive Editor, Bangla Patrika

Kai Yuen Instructor, The Mui Fa Lion & Unicorn Dance Team

Mohsin Zaheer Editor, Sada-E-Pakistan

  • Transportation Frustration
  • Thursday, June 21 - 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Friday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am
  • Course Correction
  • Tuesday, May 22 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm