CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: No Free Lunches

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 28, 2014.

First aired: April 30, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre Pierre, Sarah Pizon speaks with healthy food advocates Lisa Suriano and Kelly Moltzen about what’s being done to ensure that no more schools and students drop out of the healthier school lunch program. Garry speaks to Eunique Jones Gibson about her multi-media campaign that features children dressed as famous African American icons. Then we profile Claudia Berroa, a Peruvian immigrant who has turned her grandmother’s flan recipe into a fledgling business.

Guest List

Claudia Berroa Owner, Claudy’s Gourmet

Richard Berroa Owner, Claudy’s Gourmet

Eunique Jones Gibson Campaign Creator, “Because of Them We Can”

Kelly Moltzen, MPH, RD Healthy Schools NY Program Coordinator, Bronx Health REACH

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • Wise Women
  • Saturday, June 24 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, July 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 22 - 8:30am
  • Wise Women
  • Wednesday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Wednesday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17 - 8:30am
  • Behind the Book
  • Wednesday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10 - 8:30am
  • Hail for Help
  • Wednesday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3 - 8:30am
  • School Segregation
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 27 - 8:30am