CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: No Free Lunches

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 28, 2014.

First aired: April 30, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre Pierre, Sarah Pizon speaks with healthy food advocates Lisa Suriano and Kelly Moltzen about what’s being done to ensure that no more schools and students drop out of the healthier school lunch program. Garry speaks to Eunique Jones Gibson about her multi-media campaign that features children dressed as famous African American icons. Then we profile Claudia Berroa, a Peruvian immigrant who has turned her grandmother’s flan recipe into a fledgling business.

Guest List

Claudia Berroa Owner, Claudy’s Gourmet

Richard Berroa Owner, Claudy’s Gourmet

Eunique Jones Gibson Campaign Creator, “Because of Them We Can”

Kelly Moltzen, MPH, RD Healthy Schools NY Program Coordinator, Bronx Health REACH

Lisa Suriano Co-Chair, New York Coalition for Healthy School Food

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Thursday, August 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm