CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Polishing the Parade

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 2, 2014.

First aired: June 4, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we talk to a new board member of the National Puerto Rican Day Parade about how they’re trying to change the event’s image after the last board was disbanded under a shroud of controversy. Sarah Pizon speaks to Sonia Manzano, known for her role as Maria on Sesame Street, and Aurora Anaya-Cerda, the founder of the independent bookstore La Casa Azul, about a program that hopes to promote literacy and a sense on community in East Harlem. Then we see how African-inspired fashion is adding some flare to the streets of Brooklyn.

Guest List

Aurora Anaya-Cerda Owner, La Casa Azul Bookstore

Sonia Manzano Author, “The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano”

Orlando Plaza Board Member, National Puerto Rican Day Parade, Inc.

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm