CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Polishing the Parade

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 2, 2014.

First aired: June 4, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we talk to a new board member of the National Puerto Rican Day Parade about how they’re trying to change the event’s image after the last board was disbanded under a shroud of controversy. Sarah Pizon speaks to Sonia Manzano, known for her role as Maria on Sesame Street, and Aurora Anaya-Cerda, the founder of the independent bookstore La Casa Azul, about a program that hopes to promote literacy and a sense on community in East Harlem. Then we see how African-inspired fashion is adding some flare to the streets of Brooklyn.

Guest List

Aurora Anaya-Cerda Owner, La Casa Azul Bookstore

Sonia Manzano Author, “The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano”

Orlando Plaza Board Member, National Puerto Rican Day Parade, Inc.

  • Women in Food Works
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Friday, July 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm