CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Thursday, March 23 - 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 25 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, March 29 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Wednesday, March 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Wednesday, March 15 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 18 - 8:30am
  • Small Business, Big City
  • Wednesday, March 8 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 11 - 8:30am
  • Sanctuary Cities
  • Wednesday, March 1 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 4 - 8:30am
  • Migrant Kitchens
  • Wednesday, February 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 25 - 8:30am