CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • tba
  • Saturday, July 2 - 8:30am
  • Summer Job Hunt
  • Wednesday, July 6 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 9 - 8:30am
  • Brown is the New White
  • Wednesday, July 13 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 16 - 8:30am
  • American Addiction
  • Wednesday, July 20 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 23 - 8:30am
  • Fighting for the Underground
  • Wednesday, July 27 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, July 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 30 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 29 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Film Focus Special
  • Wednesday, June 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 25 - 8:30am
  • Summer Job Hunt
  • Wednesday, June 15 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 18 - 8:30am
  • It's In The Bag
  • Wednesday, June 8 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 11 - 8:30am
  • Girls Who Write Code
  • Wednesday, June 1 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 4 - 8:30am