CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • Pushing Deferred Action
  • Wednesday, February 10 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 13 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, February 17 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 20 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, February 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 27 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, March 2 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 5 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, March 9 - 8:30pm
  • Added Pressure
  • Wednesday, February 3 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, February 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 6 - 8:30am
  • Hollywood Shuffle
  • Wednesday, January 27 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, January 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 30 - 8:30am
  • Street Fight
  • Thursday, January 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 23 - 8:30am
  • Destination: Cuba
  • Wednesday, January 13 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, January 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 16 - 8:30am