CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • Minding What You Eat
  • Wednesday, September 28 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 1 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 5 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, October 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 8 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 12 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, October 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 15 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, October 19 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, October 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 22 - 8:30am
  • The Candidates: Police-Community Relations
  • Wednesday, September 21 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 22 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 24 - 8:30am
  • The Candidates: Trump/Clinton
  • Wednesday, September 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 17 - 8:30am
  • Film Focus Special
  • Wednesday, September 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 10 - 8:30am
  • It's In The Bag
  • Wednesday, August 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, September 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 3 - 8:30am
  • NYC Incarcerated
  • Thursday, August 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 27 - 8:30am