CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 4 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 7 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 11 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 14 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 18 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 21 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 25 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 28 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, June 1 - 8:30pm
  • A Window of Opportunity
  • Wednesday, April 27 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 30 - 8:30am
  • Fighting for the Underground
  • Wednesday, April 20 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 23 - 8:30am
  • Girls Who Write Code
  • Wednesday, April 13 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 16 - 8:30am
  • Summer Job Hunt
  • Wednesday, April 6 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 9 - 8:30am