CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 6 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 9 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 13 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 16 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 20 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 23 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, May 27 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, May 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 30 - 8:30am
  • India's Daughters
  • Wednesday, April 29 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 2 - 8:30am
  • 2015 Earth Day Special
  • Wednesday, April 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 25 - 8:30am
  • A Collective Denial
  • Wednesday, April 15 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 18 - 8:30am
  • Biking Access
  • Wednesday, April 8 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 11 - 8:30am
  • The Homeless Redesign
  • Saturday, April 4 - 8:30am