CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • Diversity in Comics
  • Wednesday, December 24 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, December 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 27 - 8:30am
  • 2014 Year in Review
  • Wednesday, December 31 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, January 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 3 - 8:30am
  • Food Special
  • Wednesday, January 7 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, January 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 10 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, January 14 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, January 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 17 - 8:30am
  • The Police and the Policed
  • Wednesday, December 17 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, December 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 20 - 8:30am
  • Video Eyewitness
  • Wednesday, December 10 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, December 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 13 - 8:30am
  • The Asian Vote
  • Wednesday, December 3 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, December 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 6 - 8:30am
  • 2013 Year in Review
  • Wednesday, November 26 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, November 27 - 5:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, November 29 - 8:30am
  • Thanksgiving Special 2014
  • Saturday, November 22 - 8:30am