CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Lost and Found New York

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 4, 2014.

First aired: August 20, 2014.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we explore some of the city’s cultural and historical treasures that have been relocated or lost. First we unearth the history of Seneca Village, a settlement of free blacks that was built in the area that is now occupied by Central Park. Then we meet author Ellen Levitt, who has been tracking down the lost synagogues around New York City. Sarah Pizon speaks with James and Karla Murray, who’ve been documenting the demographic shifts in the city through various communities changing storefronts.

Guest List

Howard Brandstein Executive Director, Sixth Street Community Center

Cynthia R. Copeland Adjunct Professor & Public Historian, New York University

Jeffrey S. Gurock, Ph.D. Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Ellen Levitt Author, “The Lost Synagogues” book series

James Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

Karla Murray Co-Author, Store Front : The Disappearing Face of New York

  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 1 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 4 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 8 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 11 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 15 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 18 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 22 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, April 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 25 - 8:30am
  • tba
  • Wednesday, April 29 - 8:30pm
  • The ISIS Effect
  • Wednesday, March 25 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 28 - 8:30am
  • South Bronx Start Up
  • Wednesday, March 18 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 21 - 8:30am
  • Filling the News Vacuum
  • Wednesday, March 11 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 14 - 8:30am
  • The Black Russians
  • Wednesday, March 4 - 8:30pm
  • Thursday, March 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 7 - 8:30am