CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: An End to Secure Communities

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 10, 2014.

First aired: November 12, 2014.

On this special edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we learn why immigration advocates still have a long battle ahead, even after a major victory to opt out of the Secure Communities Program. We see how the group, New Immigrant Community Empowerment, is trying to fight employment agency fraud with a graphic novel. Then we profile a syringe exchange program in the South Bronx, that’s helped stem the spread of HIV/AIDS in that community while using a controversial technique.

Guest List

Ramon Collazo Community Outreach, BOOM!Health

Carmen England Community Outreach, BOOM!Health

Jessica Garcia Director of Organizing and Programs, New Immigrant Community Empowerment

Ed Manchess Harm Reduction Services, BOOM!Health

Alisa Wellek Co-Executive Director, Immigrant Defense Project

  • Women in Food Works
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Friday, July 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 4:30pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm