CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: An End to Secure Communities

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 10, 2014.

First aired: November 12, 2014.

On this special edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we learn why immigration advocates still have a long battle ahead, even after a major victory to opt out of the Secure Communities Program. We see how the group, New Immigrant Community Empowerment, is trying to fight employment agency fraud with a graphic novel. Then we profile a syringe exchange program in the South Bronx, that’s helped stem the spread of HIV/AIDS in that community while using a controversial technique.

Guest List

Ramon Collazo Community Outreach, BOOM!Health

Carmen England Community Outreach, BOOM!Health

Jessica Garcia Director of Organizing and Programs, New Immigrant Community Empowerment

Ed Manchess Harm Reduction Services, BOOM!Health

Alisa Wellek Co-Executive Director, Immigrant Defense Project

  • Bank Fraud
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 20 - 4:30pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm