CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Filling the News Vacuum

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 9, 2015.

First aired: March 11, 2015.

On this edition of Independent Sources hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we talk about whether community newspapers are up to the task of filling the news vacuum that will be left by the impending closure of the Daily News’ bureaus in the outer boroughs. We discuss the possible impact on the city’s Muslim community after winning a nine year struggle to get two high holidays on the NYC school holiday calendar. Then we speak to a dance instructor who is drawing a very diverse audience to her K Pop classes as the Korean genre’s popularity grows in the city.

Guest List

Munju (M.J.) Choi Director, I LOVE DANCE Studio

Hesham El-Meligy Steering Committee Member, Coalition for Muslim School Holidays

David Keisman Publisher, The Manhattan Times

Jehangir Khattak Senior Editor, Voices of New York

DJ McIver Student, I LOVE DANCE Studio

  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm