CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Diversity Disparity

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 21, 2015.

First aired: September 23, 2015.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we explore why New York City’s booming tech sector is majority white and what can be done to help "Silicon Alley" reflect more of the city’s diversity. We talk about the role of unions in helping minority workers bridge the racial pay divide. Then, we learn about an upcoming playwrights festival that focuses on the work of African creators.

Guest List

Ngozi Anyanwu Artistic Director, NOW AFRICA: Playwrights Festival

Adam Forman Senior Researcher, Center for an Urban Future

Angie Kamath Executive Director, Per Scholas

Prof. Stephanie Luce Professor of Labor Studies, The Joseph S. Murphy Institute for Worker Education/CUNY School of Professional Studies

Mfoniso Udofia Creator, NOW AFRICA: Playwrights Festival

  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, August 17 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 8:30am
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Friday, July 20 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:30am
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm