CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Diversity Disparity

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 21, 2015.

First aired: September 23, 2015.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we explore why New York City’s booming tech sector is majority white and what can be done to help "Silicon Alley" reflect more of the city’s diversity. We talk about the role of unions in helping minority workers bridge the racial pay divide. Then, we learn about an upcoming playwrights festival that focuses on the work of African creators.

Guest List

Ngozi Anyanwu Artistic Director, NOW AFRICA: Playwrights Festival

Adam Forman Senior Researcher, Center for an Urban Future

Angie Kamath Executive Director, Per Scholas

Prof. Stephanie Luce Professor of Labor Studies, The Joseph S. Murphy Institute for Worker Education/CUNY School of Professional Studies

Mfoniso Udofia Creator, NOW AFRICA: Playwrights Festival

  • Bank Fraud
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 20 - 4:30pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm