CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: NYC Incarcerated

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 14, 2015.

First aired: December 16, 2015.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre we’ll take a look at the city’s penal system. First we’ll talk about the effort to end the trying of minors as adults and why some New York lawmakers are reluctant to pass a law in that regard. Then we’ll learn about the recent legislation that ended the practice of asking about someone’s criminal history on a job application form. Advocates say that it will open up opportunities for thousands of New Yorkers.

Guest List

Bishop Darren A. Ferguson Faith in New York 

Eli Hager Staff Writer, The Marshall Project

Charles Nuñez Community Advocate, Youth Represent

Jasbir Singh 'Live Free' Campaign Organizer, Faith in New York

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Saturday, August 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm