CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: 2015: Year In Review





Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 21, 2015.

First aired: December 30, 2015.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Abi Ishola, we look back at some of our favorite stories of 2015, including the profile on a third-generation Grenadian immigrant who has set up a boutique concept store in Bedford Stuyvesant at a time when increasing gentrification is forcing out longtime residents and black-owned businesses. We also highlight the city’s effort to create affordable housing for artists with the opening of Art Space PS 109. Then we hear about one woman’s efforts to save a disappearing South American language called Quechua.

Guest List

Michael Abbott Quecha Graduate Student, New York University

Andres Jimenez Ambía Founder, Inkarayku

Elva Ambía Co-Founder, New York Quechua Initiative

Kai Avent-deLeon Owner, Sincerely, Tommy

Maryam Awan Co-Creator/Author, “Blades of Hope”

Melodie Bahan Artspace, Vice President of Communications

Prof. Juliette Blevins, Ph.D. Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Co-Director, Endangered Language Alliance

David Brothers Content Manager, Image Comics

Alenca David Actor

Carlos David Photographer

Yuli Fisher Co-Founder, Williamsburg Dual Language Program

Anthony C. Fletcher Creator, “C2 & Posse”

Antonia Guerrero Artist

Jaimel Hemphill Creative Director, National Press Comics

Stacy Kovacs Artistic Director, Batala NYC

Sandra Noyola Principal, P.S. 147 Isaac Remsen

Bernardo Palombo Founder/Executive Director, El Taller Latino Americano

Gustavo Rosado Executive Director, El Barrio's Operation Fight Back

Eric Dean Seaton Creator, “Legend of the Mantamaji”

Naomi Sturm Co-Founder, New York Quechua Initiative

Sara Valentine Band Member, Batala NYC

  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, April 24 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Course Correction
  • Friday, April 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Friday, April 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 21 - 8:30am
  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, March 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 31 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Saturday, March 24 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, March 27 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, March 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm