CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Summer Job Hunt

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 4, 2016.

First aired: April 6, 2016.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we talk about a proposed plan to overhaul the city’s summer jobs program to provide paid jobs for the more than 100,000 high schoolers looking for employment each summer. We learn about an Internet campaign that’s fighting back against colorism in the Indian community. Then we meet a chaplain who his following in his mother’s footsteps by taking to the streets to help others in need and teaching others to do the same.

Guest List

Jamila Abdul-Kareem Community Crisis Chaplain, Center for NYC Neighborhoods

Aseem Chhabra Freelance Journalist

Rev. Marcos A. Miranda Founder & President, New York State Chaplain Task Force

Lazar Treschan Director of Youth Policy, Community Service Society

  • Transportation Frustration
  • Tuesday, June 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Women in Food Works
  • Friday, June 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, July 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17 - 4:30pm
  • Transportation Frustration
  • Friday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 31 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:30am
  • Course Correction
  • Tuesday, May 22 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 24 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm