CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Haitians at the Border

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 5, 2016.

First aired: December 7, 2016.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we learn about how the US’ increasingly stringent immigration policy is stranding thousands of Haitian asylum seekers at the US/Mexico. We mark nearly a quarter of a century of bringing black independent films to new audiences with the Co-Founder of the African Diaspora International Film Festival. Then we get a lesson in the history of the woman who popularized belly dancing in the United States.

Guest List

Dorit König Dance Instructor, Serena Studios

Jocelyn McCalla Chief Executive Officer, JMC Strategies

Diarah N'Daw-Spech Co-Founder, African Diaspora International Film Festival 

Scott Wilson Co-Founder, Serena Belly Dance Museum

  • On the Rocks
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm