CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: United By Flavors

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 12, 2016.

First aired: December 21, 2016.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we highlight a new book that explores the United States’ ethnically diverse history by delving into the origins of eight essential ingredients. We learn about a group of costumed performers who’re instilling more cultural pride in young African Americans by teaching them about the history of African royalty like Cleopatra and King Tut. Then we visit a distillery in the South Bronx that’s making legal Puerto Rican moonshine.

Guest List

Ekiuwa Asemota Creative Director, Your Queens

Jodan Gilles Performer “King Tut”, Your Queens

Sarah Lohman Author, “Eight Flavors: The Untold Story of American Cuisine”

Manuel Muñoz Distiller/Bartender, Port Morris Distillery

William Valentín Co-Owner, Port Morris Distillery

  • Heat Seeker
  • Thursday, April 26 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Course Correction
  • Friday, April 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 3 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 10 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Heat Seeker
  • Friday, April 13 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 14 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 17 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 19 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 21 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 24 - 4:30pm
  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, March 30 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 31 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 3 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 5 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 7 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, April 10 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 12 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Tuesday, March 27 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, March 29 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm