CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: United By Flavors

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 12, 2016.

First aired: December 21, 2016.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we highlight a new book that explores the United States’ ethnically diverse history by delving into the origins of eight essential ingredients. We learn about a group of costumed performers who’re instilling more cultural pride in young African Americans by teaching them about the history of African royalty like Cleopatra and King Tut. Then we visit a distillery in the South Bronx that’s making legal Puerto Rican moonshine.

Guest List

Ekiuwa Asemota Creative Director, Your Queens

Jodan Gilles Performer “King Tut”, Your Queens

Sarah Lohman Author, “Eight Flavors: The Untold Story of American Cuisine”

Manuel Muñoz Distiller/Bartender, Port Morris Distillery

William Valentín Co-Owner, Port Morris Distillery

  • Bank Fraud
  • Thursday, January 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 1 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • The Hijab and the Athlete
  • Friday, February 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 6 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 8 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 13 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, February 15 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Food is a Need
  • Friday, February 16 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, February 20 - 4:30pm
  • Bank Fraud
  • Friday, January 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 23 - 4:30pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm