CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Free Lunch

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 25, 2017.

First aired: September 29, 2017.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, questions about school funding emerge with the recent rollout of the Free School Lunch program for all of New York City’s public schools. A Sikh organization funds a million-dollar educational ad campaign at a time of increasing hate crimes in the U.S. Then, we meet Pamela Yates, the director of 500 Years, a new film that tells the story of indigenous Mayans in Guatemala fighting an oppressive government.

Guest List

Gurwin Singh Ahuja Executive Director, The National Sikh Campaign

Ashley Rafalow Director of Operations and Communications, CUNY Urban Food Policy Institute

Pamela Yates Film Director, “500 Years: Life in Resistance” (2017)

Alex Zimmerman Reporter, Chalkbeat

  • Heat Seeker
  • Saturday, December 16 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 19 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 21 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Friday, December 22 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • On the Rocks
  • Friday, January 5 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, January 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, January 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 8:30am
  • Heat Seeker
  • Friday, December 8 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, December 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 12 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 14 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Art Influenced
  • Friday, November 24 - 9:05pm
  • Saturday, November 25 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, December 2 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, December 5 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, December 7 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Thursday, November 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, November 18 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, November 21 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, November 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm