CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Star Power for People Power

Episode Details

First aired: January 1, 2018.

This week on the show, before #TimesUp, a history of successful collaboration between grassroots activists and celebrities already existed. Laura talks to Eve Ensler, who will be returning to Broadway with a new play titled "In The Body of the World," about why our bodies must be connected to our politics. Then, an interview with Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin, of the hit show 'Grace and Frankie,' alongside Saru Jarayaman, president of Restaurant Opportunities Center United. Laura speaks to them in Detroit during the summer of 2017 after they went to canvas door to door for a ballot initiative that seeks not only to win a single fair minimum wage, but to help build a broad progressive agenda in Michigan statewide. 

Guest List

Eve Ensler Playwright/Author, "In the Body of the World: A Memoir"

Jane Fonda Actress

Saru Jayaraman Co-Founder/Co-Director, Restaurant Opportunities Centers United

Lily Tomlin Actress

  • Unsung: Puerto Rican People's Power #OneYearAfterMaria
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 28 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, September 30 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 5 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 12 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, October 14 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 18 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, October 19 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 10:30am