CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Episodio #43: Teatro Circulo, Jacobo Morales, Carlos Monsiváis, Xiomara Laugart

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 5, 2009.

(In Spanish with English subtitles) 

En este episodio iniciamos en el Lower East Side, con Teatro Circulo, una compañia teatral que desde hace 15 años se dedica a producir obras en español. Recientemente, adquirió su propio edificio, convirtiéndose en la primera compañía Latina en Manhattan en ser dueña de su propio espacio. Además, conoceremos dos de sus producciones más recientes.

Después Carmen Boullosa nos lleva al Lincoln Center a conocer el trabajo de Jacobo Morales. El cineasta puertorriqueño por excelencia. Es actor, director y escritor. Empezó en el teatro, pasó por la television, después al cine y su trayectoria lo pone a nivel de Woody Allen y Barbara Streissand.

Luego Carlos Monviváis, uno de los escritores más importantes de México, quien fue invitado al festival anual Pen World Voices en esta ciudad. Nos lleva al norte de Manhattan. Monsiváis hizo algo que pocos de su círculo de influencia se atreve a hacer, visitar a la comunidad migrante latinoamericana y escuchar sobre sus experiencias y su necesidad de organización política.

Y finalmente nos vamos al East Village a conocer a Xiomara Laugart, extraordinaria cantante cubana, quien llevó en sus hombros la responsabilidad de encarnar uno de los mitos más queridos de la canción afro-antillana, a la cantante Celia Cruz , en el musical de Broadway del mismo nombre. Xiomara nos cuenta de su trayectoria artística y los proyectos de los cuales ha sido parte.


---

This episode begins on the Lower East Side with Teatro Círculo, a theater company which has been staging plays in Spanish for 15 years. Recently, it acquired a building of its own, making it the only theater group in Manhattan which owns its own space. Also, we'll see parts of two of their most recent productions.

Afterwards, Carmen Boullosa takes us to Lincoln Center to learn about the work of Jacobo Morales, the iconic Puerto Rican filmmaker, actor, director and writer. He began in theater, then television, and finally film where he was nominated for an Oscar.

Then, Carlos Monsiváis, one of Mexico's most important writers, who was invited to the annual Pen World Voices Festival, takes us to Upper Manhattan. Monsiváis did something that few in his circle of influence have dared to do; visit the Latin American immigrant community and listen to their experiences and their need to organize politically.

And, finally,we go to the East Village to meet Xiomara Laugart, the extraordinary Cuban singer who recently took on the role of one of the most beloved icons of Afro-Cuban music, singer Celia Cruz, in the musical Broadway musical which bears her name. Xiomara tells us about her artistic career and the projects she has been a part of.

Guest List

Carmen Boullosa Distinguished Lecturer, City College/CUNY

Beatriz Córdoba Directora Artística Asociada, Teatro Círculo

Xiomara Laugart Cantante

Prof. Patricio Lerzundi Chair of the Journalism, Communication, and Theatre Department (JCT) at Lehman College

Carlos Monsivais Escritor

Jacobo Morales Actor, escritor y director de cine

José Cheo Oliveras Director Artistico y Fundador, Teatro Círculo

Eva Cristina Vásquez Actriz/Dramaturga y Fundadora, Teatro Círculo

  • I am a dreamer
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, January 3 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, January 10 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 6:30am
  • I am a dreamer
  • Thursday, December 13 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 6:30am
  • LAMC: Mala Rodriguez, Anita Tijoux, Niña Dioz
  • Sunday, November 18 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:00am, 4:00pm