CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Episodio #106:Cortos de la Escuela de Cine Casa Comal

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 5, 2012.

First aired: January 5, 2012.

En este especial de cine indígena invitamos a Elías Jiménez, director de la escuela de cine Casa Comal de Guatemala a presentar algunas de las películas fruto del taller de cine impartido a cineastas de las comunidades mayas de ese país. Veremos tres cortometrajes que muestran la diversidad del pensamiento audiovisual y narrativo de dichas comunidades.
-------
In this special presentation on indigenous cinema, we invited Elias Jimenez, director of Casa Comal film school in Guatemala, to present some of the films created by Mayan filmmakers in the school’s workshop. We will see three short films that demonstrate the diversity of audio-visual and narrative thought within these communities.

Guest List

Carmen Boullosa Distinguished Lecturer, City College/CUNY

Elías Jiménez Director, Escuela de Cine Casa Comal

Prof. Patricio Lerzundi Chair of the Journalism, Communication, and Theatre Department (JCT) at Lehman College

  • Carlota Santana-Flamenco Vivo, Sol Aguirre, I am a dreamer
  • Thursday, March 21 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, March 23 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, March 24 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, March 28 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, March 30 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, March 31 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, April 4 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, April 6 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, April 7 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, April 11 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • TBA
  • Thursday, April 11 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, April 13 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, April 14 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, April 18 - 10:00am, 4:00pm