CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: R. B. Music Academy, Modesto Lacen, Chucho Valdés

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 14, 2013.

First aired: November 14, 2013.

Iniciamos este episodio en Manhattan, en donde el encuentro RB Music Academy de Nueva York celebra su décimo quinto aniversario. Con los músicos Alex Silva y Nicolás Melmann descubrimos las nuevas tendencias en la música experimental.

A continuación, en el Teatro Sea, Patricio Lerzundi entrevista a Modesto Lacén, actor puertorriqueño que ha participado en obras como “Celia Cruz, el musical” y “DC-7, La historia de Roberto Clemente”.

Para finalizar, hablamos con Chucho Valdés, legendario pianista y compositor cubano quien reflexiona sobre la naturaleza de su obra musical y la relación de los ritmos afro-caribeños con la música afro-americana.
+++
We begin this show in Manhattan, where the Red Bull Music Academy of New York is celebrating its 15th anniversary. With musicians Alex Silva and Nicolas Melmann, we'll discover some new trends in experimental music.

And then, at the Teatro SEA, Patricio Lerzundi interviews Modesto Lacen, a Puerto Rican actor who has participated in productions such as Celia Cruz, The Musical, and DC-7: The Story of Roberto Clemente.

To finish, we talk to Chucho Valdés, the legendary Cuban pianist and composer, who reflects on the nature of his music and the relationship between Afro-Caribbean rhythms and Afro-American music.

Guest List

Modesto Lacén Actor

Patricio Lersundi Professor, Lehman College/CUNY

Nicolás Melmann Musician, Músico - Mel Mann

Alex Silva Musician, Músico - Astroboyz

Chucho Valdés Pianista y compositor

  • LAMC: Mala Rodriguez, Anita Tijoux, Niña Dioz
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • I am a dreamer
  • Thursday, December 13 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, January 3 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, January 10 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • LAMC: Mala Rodriguez, Anita Tijoux, Niña Dioz
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 6:30am