CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: P. Yates, Dapuntobeat, Ginger Moon, X. Roca

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 6, 2014.

First aired: November 6, 2014.

Iniciamos este episodio en Brooklyn en donde Carmen Boullosa habla con la cineasta estadounidense Pamela Yates sobre como sus películas son una permanente búsqueda de verdad y justicia.

Mas adelante, en la Conferencia de Música Alternativa Latina, LAMC, nos encontramos con Dapuntobeat, un proyecto musical con influencias electro-rock, funk y disco que nació en la Cuidad de México.

Luego, en el Bronx vamos a conocer el trabajo de Ginger Moon, una cooperativa que apoya a madres que están a punto o recién han dado a luz, ofreciendo servicios de alimentación antes del parto y durante la lactancia.

Para finalizar, en Queens conversamos con Ximena Roca, una joven cantante de Nueva York quien nos asegura que, gracias a la influencia de su padre, interpreta la música mariachi con profundo respeto por las raíces este género musical.
+++

We begin this episode in Brooklyn, where Carmen Boullosa speaks with American filmmaker Pamela Yates about how her films are a permanent search for truth and justice.

Later, at the Latin Alternative Music Conference (LAMC) we meet up with Dapuntobeat a musical project influenced by electro-rock, funk, and disco coming out of Mexico City.

Then, in the Bronx, we'll learn of the work of Ginger Moon, a co-op, which supports mothers close to term or who recently gave birth. They offer food service before birth and during lactation.

Finally, in Queens, we will speak with Ximena Roca, a young singer from New York to her father's influence that she interprets mariachi music with a profound respect for the roots of this genre.

Guest List

Maricruz Badia Trabajadora/Dueña, Ginger Moon

Ian Corona Dapuntobeat

Ry Machado Dapuntobeat

Oliflip Dapuntobeat

German Roca Padre / Manager de Ximena Roca

Ximena Roca Cantante / Compositora Mariachi

JM Salinas Dapuntobeat

Pamela Yates Cineasta

  • NY: Malevaje, Luisa Díaz, Felipe Fernández-A. and Visitante
  • Thursday, July 19 - 4:00pm, 8:30pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, July 22 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, July 26 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, July 29 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, August 2 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Season 13/Episode #20
  • Thursday, August 2 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, August 5 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, August 9 - 10:00am, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 2:30pm
  • Sunday, August 12 - 6:30am
  • Thursday, August 16 - 10:00am, 4:00pm, 8:30pm